Writing for Justice – Persuasion from the Inside Out

I really enjoyed Mark Hansen’s article. I think it is important to find out what students value and are passionate about before you ask them to write persuasive pieces. Likewise, students are more engaged and produce better pieces of writing when the topic is something they care about, not some generic topic. I think it is a great idea to have students come up with a list of many things they have learned about/care about and then make posters before beginning the writing process. It is also important to stress that thinking about your ideas and rewording  them (revising) to fit the message you are trying to get across is very important. 

While I was reading this article, I thought of something I am very passionate about. I have been on two mission trips to Guatemala and I am returning to Guatemala for the third time this summer. Every time I visit the city dump, it breaks my heart. People live in this dump. Nothing is done to prevent this. 

Image

 

I took this picture while visiting the city dump in Guatemala City, Guatemala. 

One thought on “Writing for Justice – Persuasion from the Inside Out

Leave a Reply

